Describes a person who consumes a vegetarian diet that also includes fish and seafood.  For the vast majority of vegetarians and in present-day Western society, fish is not considered a vegetarian food.  However, in countries where vegetarianism is uncommon, vegetarians and pescatarians should specify what they mean as some restaurants will serve fish or chicken to someone who asks for no meat.

    Many pescatarians eat both eggs and dairy products (technically a lacto-ovo-pescatarian, also known as an ovo-lacto vegetarian), while some do not.  Finally, the Vegetarian Society does not consider pescetarianism a vegetarian diet.



    « Back to Glossary Index